Skip to content

FOUND: Garden Mentors Online

Since joining Twitter in April 2009, I’ve met many gardeners and designers online that I’m proud to call my mentors.  These folks have experience in vegetable gardens, perennial gardens, landscape design, container gardens, garden blogging and/or composting.  They’re also a pleasure to chat with.

Just recently, one of my Twitter mentors, Dan Eskelson nominated me for the Honest Scrap Award. But, since I already wrote my post for the Honest Scrap Award (you can read it here), I decided to talk about what makes Dan a great mentor instead.

What’s great about being friends with Dan on Twitter is that he seems to know everything about gardening and landscape design AND he’s willing to share his knowledge with the rest of us.  He’s also very approachable and often the first to respond to my crazy questions/situations — in my opinion this is what makes him a great mentor.

That, and he’s an all-around nice guy and a great conversationalist.

What’s great about Twitter is that I can also see Dan’s conversations with the other garden/design gurus that I follow (a.k.a my other mentors).  It’s like getting to listen in as the Masters talk poetically about design, landscape design, plants,  latin plant names and organic methods.  I admit, sometimes I have no idea what they’re talking about and have to use “Google” to figure it out — but I enjoy learning new things.

Now, I agree that Twitter isn’t for everyone (I often wonder if it’s right for me since I spend more time reading other people’s posts than actually engaging in conversation) but, finding Dan and other garden mentors/friends online is one of the best things to happen to my garden.  It’s like having an interactive resource manual, cheerleading squad and cocktail party at my fingertips.  It has also helped me realize I have a lot left to learn about gardening and design — especially if I want to be a great mentor like Dan some day.

I’d like to thank Dan for nominating me for the Honest Scrap Award and for being so supportive online — both are apprecited.  You can learn more about Dan by visiting Clearwater Landscapes or by following @daneskelson on Twitter.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. I agree. Mentors are indespensible, and we are all lucky to have so many out there that are willing to share their gardening/design experise with us. I still am nervous to Twitter, I spend too much time on blotanical as it is!
    Christine in Alaska

    Like

    December 23, 2009
    • Christine, I hear you! I spend far too much time on Twitter and normally don’t spend much time on Blotanical. I can’t imagine having enough time to be on both. Twitter is easier for me since I can check it from my phone when commuting on the bus. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      December 24, 2009
  2. Botany Buddy #

    Before this I used to frequent the Baker Creek forums at http://www.rareseeds.com. It is a great group, but with forums it is harder to choose what you hear. It seems to me Twitter is replacing that somewhat. You have to weed through the junk, but it is nice to be able to weed it out.

    Like

    December 26, 2009
  3. Dan’s great…and it’s been fun finding you and so many other fantastic gardeners from around the world and all walks of life thru Twitter. Cheers!

    Like

    December 29, 2009
  4. Shirley Bovshow #

    Hi, I just found your blog because it was somehow referring viewers to my Garden World Report show! Your mentor and wonderful landscape professional, Dan happened to appear on my show recently. Did you watch him? He presented some of his original music- he’s a talented guy!

    Anyway, don’t know how I got a link to my site, but thanks, anyhow and you chose a admirable mentor!

    Shirley Bovshow
    GardenWorldReport.com

    Like

    December 30, 2009
  5. What an awesome post! Glad you’ve gotten something really positive from Twitter. I hope one day I’ll stop fooling around on it and take it serious as a vehicle for learning.

    Cheers.

    Like

    December 30, 2009

Leave a comment